make: homemade twig wreath

First of all, HELLO!

We’ve been so absent in this season of life, but we have not forgotten you. I’m so happy to be posting again amidst all the Christmas craziness & my brand-new baby niece (that’s right – Rachel had her baby girl!).

IMG_3660

I’ve been wanting to make my own wreath for a while, and putting together this blog post for work just added more fuel to my fire. I had a lot of fun making my twig wreath, even if it’s *ahem* a beginner’s wreath.

No, seriously.

I started by buying 14 gauge wire at my local hardware store & gathering twigs up at Joaquin Miller Park. I wanted my wreath to be literally made in & from Oakland. Because I wanted a spare look, I made my own single-wire wreath form so I could easily conceal the form.

IMG_3494

IMG_3496

For the base, I used floral wire to attach the first round of twigs. After that, I use wire for the next layer or so, then I switched over to hot glue. I also attached the pine cones from Michael’s with floral wire.

IMG_3653

Finally, I topped it with a navy ribbon for Thanksgiving time…

IMG_3658

and a white, red and green ribbon for Christmas!

wreath

Please note: if you notice less sticks in the Christmas version, you’re not crazy. We had a huge windstorm, and the wreath underwent some serious damage!

Making a wreath was much easier than I expected, and I’m excited about getting better & making an even more ornate one.

xo, S.

2 thoughts on “make: homemade twig wreath

Leave a Reply

